The historic Evergreen Depot located on the old L & N Railroad line in downtown Evergreen was constructed in 1907 and ready for occupancy by March of 1908. The depot was described as an ornament to the town, and pride for everyone, the best and most ornate outside of large cities, according to a newspaper report for that time. There were 3 waiting rooms, ‘sanitary closets’, a baggage room, an express room and freight room in the rear of the building. It would be one of the first buildings in Evergreen with electricity. Cost of the building was $10,000.
Today, the depot is used as the offices for The Evergreen-Conecuh Co. Chamber of Commerce, with a conference room that is rented for social gatherings, meetings, festivals, etc The old historical Evergreen Depot is a reminder to us when railroad transportation was “king”. This depot was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on April 3, 1975.
The little red caboose parked adjacent to the depot was added by the City of Evergreen, and donated by the railroad to serve as a ‘learning experience’ for area schoolchildren and others.