Bluff Hall is located in Demopolis high on White Bluff (Ecor Blanc) on the Tombigbee River where the band of French exiles landed in 1817. The house was built in 1832 by Allen Glover for his daughter, Sarah Serena Glover, and her husband, Francis Strother Lyon. The Lyons used Bluff Hall as a townhouse; they also resided at Bermuda Hill, their plantation near Arcola. This house exemplifies two major architectural trends in the Antebellum South. The original brick Federal style structure was modified to Greek Revival in the 1840s by the addition of a colonnaded portico, a large front wing and louvered gallery on a rear wing and white paint. Bluff Hall was documented as part of the Historic American Building Survey in 1936 and added to the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) in 1970. It is also included in Alabama Tapestry of Historic Places 1978 prepared by the The Alabama Historical Commission. Today, Bluff Hall is owned by the Marengo County Historical Commission and operated as a historic house museum. It contains period clothing, Empire and Victorian furniture, a display of local history and some unusual gadgets in the kitchen area. There is also a herb garden and gift shop.
Bluff Hall is located at 405 N. Commissioners Ave., Demopolis, AL (GPS Coordinates N32.520333,W87.840083).
Operation Schedule: Open Mar.-Dec.: Tu-Sat. 10-5, Sun. 2-5; Jan.-Feb.: Tu-Sat. 10-4, Sun. 2-4. Phone: 334-289-9644
405 N. Commissioners Ave.